Python Vs Julia Comparison in Artificial Intelligence

Photo by Reka Illyes on Unsplash

Python Vs Julia Comparison in Artificial Intelligence

In an AI researcher prespective :)

Table of contents

No heading

No headings in the article.

I remember my first programming language, I downloaded Sololearn while being in middle school and started self-teaching myself on C and C++. Yea, you saw that right :-) It was not HTML or CSS rather one of the nastiest languages ever created perceived by new programmers.

It started with a good start I believe as I understood about memory, storage allocation, buffer error and pointers perfectly. Though won't gonna consider myself as an expert as I did not complete "The Art of Programming Language by Donald Knuth" if I had done so, hahahah! I would flex with a shiny job offer as Software Developer at Microsoft in my middle school days.

Now, we come into the business of discussing about Arificial Intelligence. I started doing research in Arificial Intelligence by the end of my Freshman year in High school. in the span of only 2 years, I had been both Engineer and Moderator at ICLR, ICML and NeurIPS. I met several Professors from Stanford, MIT, UC Berkeley, University of Chicago, KIAST, Techincal University of Munich, Max Planck Institute and beyond. In those times, I had been a Private Beta tester for Twitter's Software Engineer and OpenAI so could say, I've a bit of experience. From all those moments, I always asked myself a question, "Why? that we only use python so much?"

Not that Python is fast or better than C++ or C, something! I know like everyone I do agree it's easy to understand and duck typed programming language but still why?

In quest of finding an answer, I actually found one! :) - The answer was exotic piece of Algorithms, programs and high-end technologies were written and invented by academics, who had little to no understanding about Devops and pipelines. I actually mean it in several regards. Cuz when you're an academic your focus should be in innovation rather than thinking about business budgets, logistics and speed. So, if you come-up with an industry disruptive concept, If you can only prove that it's innovative it's more than enough to shot yourself to the ranks of top AI experts.

Python, here really becomes pretty tasty language to work with! You may ask Why? Simple answer! It's actually one of the first programming languages that you're taught. There's several assignments with python in A Levels and AP Courses. On top of that, the language is fancy, easy and core concepts are pretty minimum and tons of tutorials are available :") Let's be honest! We all are guilty of self-teaching ourselves with YouTube tutorials. So, choosing python is a cultural preference rather than being an advantage one!

Let's focus on Julia for a bit..... Julia is a pretty solid language. I mean it's fast, easy, modern and fun! It's actually a copy of Python but a better one! I only have around 4 months of experience with Juila. Cuz I started learning it after reading an article on freecodecamp.org

Honestly! It's amazing! I personally find Julia interesting for it's minimalism and highly modern feature. I think High schools should focus on assignments and courses that teach about Julia. Reasoning behind such perspective is SIMPLE!

Julia, is great for numerical and data crunching. In modern world, Data Science ability has become a fundamental necessary skill to have. I personally think anyone interested in Mathematics, Physics or simple in Artificial Intelligence should personally start with Data Science rather than starting with Web-Dev! Cuz Web-Dev by nature is complicated and end-up confusing young souls desperate for motivation and support. That's why, starting with Data Science is pretty great idea cuz it allows to have a valuable skill and a pretty clean slate to roam and pick one's favourtite interest with programming.

That's why, I believe Julia should be become norm in schools. Reason I propose the idea of Julia becoming a norm in schools cuz in that manner only it can become a norm in Artificial Intelligence Community.

For those who're looking for traditional flavour and comparison :_)

Python!

Pros:

  1. Easy and reliable
  2. Superb Community
  3. Lots of libraries and tutorials available
  4. A whole collection can be found of AI research papers on it!

Julia!

  1. Extremely easy and Modern
  2. Fast and reliable
  3. Great Community (Pretty Active than Python!)
  4. Gem for Scientific and Academic Computing
  5. Limited research paper (But it's new kid around the block!)

I'm a personal fan of both language that's why, I don't believe in any cons. Both languages are solid and have extreme potential. I leave cons onto the readers to judge as it varies from personal prespective. If you ask me, About future! Julia is awaiting to be explode! :)